J Clark Ministries

If you have been following my blogs for the last three months, I trust you have benefited from them. Now we move on to self-esteem.

The problem areas with self-esteem are six areas.

Pride, not the kind where one is proud of his or her accomplishments. There is nothing wrong with that. I am talking about arrogance where a person thinks they know everything, brags, and thinks they don’t have to listen to anyone.

Self-abasement, the belittling or humiliation of oneself.

Narcissism, an obsession with outward appearance.

Entitlement, where a person thinks everyone owes them something without working for it.

Abuse which says that you are to blame.

Allowing your self-worth to be determined by accomplishments or attractiveness.

Building block number 4: You can develop a biblical and healthy self-esteem, and see yourself as God sees you. 

You are loved by God and have value as a person. You are a special creation with an individual uniqueness. Love yourself in a healthy and humble way, knowing that you have both strengths and weaknesses. Then you will be able to love others as you love yourself as Jesus commanded.

Foundational scripture verses:

Romans 8:35-39, Psalm 103:8-14, Psalm 139:13-16, Proverbs 27:2, Ephesians 4:11-16 and 5:28, Romans 8:1, Galatians 6:3-5, Matthew 22:37, Philippians 2:3-4

Self-evaluation questions:

1.  Do you see yourself as God sees you? Why or why not?

2. What are some things you like about yourself?

3. Do you celebrate your victories?

4. Do you know the difference between pride and self-love?

5. Do you identify with one or more of the six problem areas? If so, what needs to be done about it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *